Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author

I am an OT on the Assistive Technology team with the Children’s Program in Regina. I work with children who have low vision, motor disorders and developmental disorders. I would like a set of these letters to attach to one of our assessment keyboards to assess and demonstrate during our assessments with children from all over southern Saskatchewan.

Hello @kimscha,

I am new to this wonderful site.  I’m not exactly sure how this process works.  Do you know if digital files are available for this project?  Do the colors need to be as shown in the photograph?  I hope I can help.

Jerrod

@windhjb

Hi Jarrod,

My name is Shanelle and I am the Western Regional Coordinator for MMC.  The files for the devices are linked in the project page.  If you have any other questions about the process or using the website please reach out.

Shanelle

Thanks for the reply Shanelle.  I am not sure if I’m on the project page or not.  I do not see the files.  Do I have to click on “Make It” to see the files.  I want to help, but I’m not sure if the colors are necessary and if I’m capable.  I don’t want to commit if I’m not able.

Hi Jarrod,

Thanks for the fast interest!  I hope you can find the plans for the raised keys.  Ideally, if each row is a different colour for the letters that would be great.  It helps the kids with visual impairments in scanning the rows.  Then I can give hints “the letter you are looking for is green”. You don’t have to stick with the colours in the picture, just pick 4 colours that are distinctive from each other.

Any more questions, I will try to check in through the weekend as this account uses my work email.

Kim

@windhjb  Check out the link here for the files: https://makersmakingchange.com/project/raised-keyboard-letters/

You should be able to see everything in the link under Setup & Instructions.

Shanelle